Time for Change

by Eastern Standard Time

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD  or more




Note: some songs that are unavailable for streaming are included when you purchase the whole album as download.

Time for Change embraces Eastern Standard Time's signature blend of bop jazz and Jamaican rhythms and blends this with with soul, rocksteady, and reggae.

The album's title track, "Time for Change," is a driving reggae song calling for a new era of justice. The band then gives Lee Morgan's hard bop classic "Totem Pole" their own flavor. Energetic ska follows in the form of "Lovely in Mad," followed by the sweet rocksteady sound of "Hayati." Time for Change's first side closes with the dark but driving ska tune "Left for Dead." Side two opens with the band's take on the Sam Cooke soul classic "A Change is Gonna Come," followed by a rocksteady re-working of the modern R&B hit "Pretty Wings." The album then slips its otherwise 1960s sound on "Sugar Shack," a dubby upbeat number more akin to later eras of Jamaican music. The sixties return in full force as the band winds up Time for Change with a ska rendition of the soul classic "Thing of the Past" and closes out with their take on Alton Ellis' "Rock Steady," both long-beloved staples of the band's live shows but unavailable as studio recordings until now.

Time for Change aptly demonstrates the breadth of Eastern Standard Time's repertoire, an appropriate mix from a group renowned for drawing diverse influences into their sound. Whether in a smoky jazz club or on a festival stage they are always a dynamic live performance. That signature flexibility has led to them being chosen to back many greats in Jamaican-oriented music, including Derrick Morgan, Roy Ellis, Dr. Ring Ding, King Django, and Mr. T-Bone. Eastern Standard Time also supported Jamaican music legend Derrick Morgan on his 60th anniversary live album.


released April 5, 2019

James McDonald - Drums - Vocals
I-Peace Unikue - Vocals - Percussion
Morgan Russell - Saxophone
Bill Dempsey - Crumar Organ, Piano, Vibraphone, Glockenspiel
Zach Cutler - Guitar, Baritone Guitar
Reid Attaway - Bass Guitar
Alex Powers - Trombone

Produced by Eastern Standard Time
Engineer - Reid Attaway
Mixed by Bryan Walthall and 3rdFloorStudios
Mastered by Dan Millice


all rights reserved



Eastern Standard Time Washington, D.C.

contact / help

Contact Eastern Standard Time

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: Hayati
Jefferson/Russell (EST Music)

If you like Eastern Standard Time, you may also like: